Giving Thanks…the “Other” Holiday…


image

It’s that time of year again. The Halloween decorations and costumes are put away and the retailers are clobbering us with their “holiday cheer” with sales, Black Friday ads and Christmas music. But wait! Isn’t there another holiday in between there? One that doesn’t require panicked shopping? Right! Thanksgiving! A time for family, food and football. A time to look at, not what you want, but what you’re grateful to have.
And while I’m grateful for the material things like a roof over my head, clothes on my back and food in my belly, those aren’t the things I’m most grateful for. Thanksgiving forces us to stop and reflect on the things we’re thankful for. For me, my family is always first on that list; a supportive, loving husband, a compassionate, intelligent son, my mother that is always there for me, my sister and nephews around the corner, my dad and extended family (including my 86 year old grandmom) nearby, memories of those no longer with us, and last but not least, my chosen family…my friends. The aforementioned things (house, food, clothes) are certainly important for survival, but they don’t make a life. It’s the people, the moments, the memories, that make a life. In the wise words of Clarence from It’s a Wonderful Life, “No man is a failure who has friends.”

This year, I’ll also be giving thanks to the doctors and nurses at Aria Torresdale hospital who, most definitely, saved my sisters life last month when I took her to the emergency room for chest and back pain that ended up being a pulmonary embolism. Thank you seems to little, but it’s heartfelt and true.

I’m grateful to the people that have given me opportunities this year to work and make money to help support my family. And with that, I appreciate the gift of being able to get up everyday to work. That isn’t afforded to everyone.

I’ve been fortunate this year to see some amazing live music, including some of my favorite musicians and bands. What’s a life without music?

Because of the men and women that are willing to make sacrifices (sometimes their lives), I’m able to enjoy all of these blessings, including writing, freely, to all of you (who I am also thankful for). Thank you servicemen and women!

Each day we wake up to a new day, to the sun shining, or even the rain falling, is a gift not to be taken for granted. My wish…our wish, for you is to take time to give thanks for the wonderful things in your life. And if you’re going through a tough time, maybe I’ve given you some ideas of things you can give thanks for. There’s always something to be grateful for. In the comments, tell us what you’re thankful for. And lastly, Enjoy your day to the fullest and Happy Thanksgiving!
❤️Noelle

Speak your mind!

