Working for Happiness: How do you Define Success?


If you Google “success” and look at the images that are returned you will find photo after photo of stacks of money, gold mansionbars, dollar signs, huge homes and ridiculously expensive cars. These images, coupled with the barrage of shows like the “Real” Housewives series’ and Keeping up with the Kardashians demonstrate that we’re a society that equates money and power with success. Used to be that if you worked hard and earned an honest, decent living, you were a success. Now, you don’t even have to work for it, you can simply spread pictures of you butt around the internet or “accidentally’ release a sex tape, and suddenly the world is infatuated with you and poof! you are an overnight “success”. But what is true success? What does it mean to the rest of us mere mortals without a reality tv show or a house that’s been featured on MTV Cribs?

bentleyWhat are the most important things in our lives? Are they things at all? Is it having nice things that motivates you? Are you driven by the need to get the next big thing- the newest iPhone? A bigger house? A nicer car? Can you put a price on happiness? For you, does money equal success? Or is it something more? What do you call success? Have we as a society become so driven by money and power and the need to be “successful” that we don’t even know what our own personal successes are?

I like to think that I have touched people’s lives in my years here on earth. I have helped people when I could. I’ve donated money and time. I’ve fed the hungry and clothed the cold and needy. And I have brought 3 bright and amazing lives into this world that I hope will someday do the same. If I never earn another dollar, if I took my last breath today, I would consider my life a success. I would go believing that there were people left here on earth, whose live were made better by something that I had done. To me, that is the ultimate success, the ultimate legacy.

At the end of it all, what will you want to have left behind? What would you like to have accomplished? How would you like to be remembered? If you could script your own epitaph, what would it say?

Stay tuned to find out what One Unified readers had to say…

“Here lies Michelle. She left behind 3 amazing spirits and she helped people whenever she possibly could.
She was a good soul.” 11733379_10207444922387954_1579920978_n

Speak your mind!

