The Bizarre File…Sleep Paralysis


Photo credit: Details A notable depiction of a Succubus-like vision, in contrast to the Incubus. My Dream, My Bad Dream, 1915, by Fritz Schwimbeck
Photo credit: Details
A notable depiction of a Succubus-like vision, in contrast to the Incubus. My Dream, My Bad Dream, 1915, by Fritz Schwimbeck

Scary movies, haunted houses and hayrides, paranormal activity. All can be scary. But there are other things that are equally terrifying. Today, we find out about something called sleep paralysis. We think you’ll understand, once you read it and try to imagine it, why we thought it should be included in our “bizarre files”.

Explain to me what sleep paralysis is?
“Sleep paralysis is feeling like you are unable to move or speak and feel a dark “presence” in the room.”

When did this first happen to you?
“I think it probably started in my late 30s or early 40s.”

Can you describe what it’s like?
“For me, it feels like I’m having a nightmare, and you desperately want to wake up from it but you can’t. I cannot move any part of my body. The room is darker than any dark I have ever seen. Then I try to open my eyes and can’t. I try to speak and I can’t make a sound. Some people have reported “seeing” a creature sitting on their chest…amongst other things. So, I feel lucky it’s not worse.”

Have you noticed this happens at certain times of your life?
“Not necessarily. But, most of them happened during a time when there some negative people in my life.”

You must’ve thought something horrible was happening to you when this happened. What were your thoughts when it started happening to you?
“My thoughts were/are that something very evil was trying to take me over. So when it happens, and I am finally able to (in very slow motion) start asking God to help me. Then instantly..it stops.”

Do you still get them?
“I think the last one was maybe a year or two ago.”

How do you handle them?
“I avoid sleeping on my back. That, in a way, makes you more vulnerable. Also, I can no longer sleep in a pitch dark room. So, the TV is on until dawn.”

One thought on “The Bizarre File…Sleep Paralysis

Speak your mind!

