Sunday Spotlight…Local Musician and Songwriter, Saver


image
What is your name and do you have a stage name?
“My name is Tim Burke, and I play under the name, Saver.”

What style of music you play?
“I’m an acoustic act from Northeast Philly. My musical tastes vary every day, so I find it difficult to pinpoint a distinct genre. I’d say angst driven acoustic; very heartfelt and honest, and easy to sing along.”

How long have you been playing?
“I’ve been playing the guitar since I was 13. It was never my intention to be a singer, though. As a kid, I played music with my brother and cousin, and I’d write full songs and be like, “I’ll just sing the songs until we find a full time singer.” I’ve never stopped writing since then, and after some vocal lessons, I really locked down my singing abilities, and wrote around my range. My voice is something I’m very proud of, because I worked very hard to achieve that skill.”

Do you write music as well?
“I write all my own music, and even when I do cover songs, I tend to play songs you wouldn’t expect from an acoustic artist. I like to make them my own. I do a cover of Drake’s “Best I Ever Had”, and even “Juicy” by Notorious BIG, which has been getting a lot of positive feedback.”

What and who influenced the music you play and write?
“The very first band I listened to where I thought, “Wow, this is what I want to do!”, was Linkin Park. I’m heavily influenced by Brand New. They are my favorite band, and I love Jesse Lacey’s lyrical style. I’m very mindful, and passionate about my lyrics, because I want someone to listen to my music, and feel the way I feel about the lyrics of Brand New. I’m also heavily into The Wonder Years, who are a pop punk band from Lansdale, who are blowing up right now. I love every one of their albums. They’ve taught me to be relatable, and not cloud the messages of my songs. It’s awesome seeing them in concert, because the venues they’re playing now are venues they grew up going to. I hope to share in that experience.”

 

image

What inspires the songs you write?
“I’m heavily influenced by people, by social interaction, as well as honest feelings, and conversation. The only thing we are looking for, as people, is genuine connection. We’re always reorganizing thoughts in our head to help us better fit the social mold, but when it comes down to it, we all feel the same exact way, and it’s unfortunate that most of us don’t realize it, or hide it. My favorite thing on the planet is after a show, when someone comes up to me and says “Dude, that one song you played, is exactly how I feel/felt.” Because that’s what we all want. That’s what I want. The things I sing about are the most personal feelings I’ve ever had. Some of the things I sing about, I can’t even talk about. So when people are singing the words back to me, or tell me they relate to my songs, it’s absolutely incredible, and that’s what feeds my passion.”

What role does music play in your life? Was it always something you had a passion for?
“I remember picking up the saxophone when I was in grade school, because I thought it was cool, but it never really clicked, and I never practiced. And then one day my cousin brought over his new guitar, and wouldn’t let me use it, so I asked my parents for one for my birthday, and it’s been all music ever since. It’s been my lifeblood every day since I turned 13. It’s had every effect on my life decisions. It helps filter my creative mind, and at this point has become therapeutic. I tend to shell my emotions, and whether it’s through songs, or poetry, I’ve been able to cope with things a lot easier through this means.”

Are you pursuing music as a career?
“I’m currently attempting to build a career in music, and I’m putting a heavy emphasis on attempting. I’m currently working two jobs, to help pay for this dream, whether the money goes towards studio time, music video/photo shoots, or just general travel expenses for shows. I’ve been in the studio for the past year, and I’m about to drop my debut EP, which is currently in mixing and mastering stages. It’s been a lot of time, effort and money to accomplish this, but I’m very excited to release it. Hopefully, this cd is my kick start into a stable career doing what I love.”

image

What is your goal?
“My ultimate goal is to be a full-time touring musician. I want to see as much of this planet as I can, playing the songs that I wrote in my basement. This has been my dream forever, and it wasn’t until recently that it looked like it was actually possible. I’ve been really lucky this past year to come into contact with some awesome people. I’ve had a few gigs with Radio 104.5 and Wired 96.5, I was a finalist in last year’s PHL LIVE competition, as well as playing some awesome venues all over the city. So, needless to say, I’ve kept busy and stayed motivated. I’m super excited to take it to the next level.”

Where can people hear your songs? Are you playing anywhere live anytime soon?
“I’m currently on Facebook, and Twitter. I’m also on Youtube, and my first single, “Don’t Even Bother”, is currently for sale on Itunes, Google Play and Amazon. There’s also a music video for that. My next show is a cancer benefit for a friend at Big Heads in Bensalem. I was originally planning on laying low on shows until my cd drops, but this was too good of a cause to pass up on. I’m going to be debuting a lot of new music at this show, as well as some other surprises. It’s on 11/7/15, and it starts at 3:00pm. If you’re reading this, and want to come out, or can’t make it out, and would like to donate, please contact me through my Facebook page, or website. Other than that, I don’t have anything booked, but once the EP drops, I’ll be all over Philadelphia, as well as some other cities I’ve been trying to sink my teeth into. I’m very excited. A lot of fun things are happening.”

image

To check out more about Saver, visit the links below for his “Juicy” cover, one of his original songs and music video and his social media sites:
Music Video- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKW7yObWQlo
FB- https://www.facebook.com/saver33
Twitter- https://twitter.com/saverphilly33
Youtube- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUaxNFrfpHn2CyhnDGsUxSg
Website- http://saverbooking.wix.com/savermusic
Juicy cover- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vGrbWiQeiI

3 thoughts on “Sunday Spotlight…Local Musician and Songwriter, Saver

Speak your mind!

