A Return to Comic-Con…


This week, we’re talking comics. I know you’re a fan and have gone to Comic-Con. How many times have you gone?
“I had only gone a few times as a teenager. Then revisited my love for the gathering last year with my husband. My ultimate goal is to reach Comic-Con in San Diego. That is the international Comic-Con where you would find everything from Marvel and D.C. comics to classic, present day sci-fi shows and movies.”

Do you go all out and dress up?
“I have dressed up, mostly as a zombie or vampire.”

What do you love most about it?
“The thing I love most is that this is an event where judgement never is a factor. When you go, you enter a world of magic and sci-fi. You can find the most interesting and rare collectables. But I would have to say above that, you get to meet some of the most iconic names, past and present! Last year we were fortunate enough to see Lou Ferrigno (The Incredible Hulk), along with Norman Reedus, Lauren Cohen, John Bernthal, Sarah Wayne Callies, Michael Rooker, and Scott Wilson (all from The Walking Dead).”

Do you have a favorite franchise?
“My favorite franchise is a hard one to choose. The more resent are The Walking Dead and Supernatural. As far as old school comics, I’m a little underground. My favorite comics growing up were Lady Death and Evil Ernie from Chaos Comics.”

Were you always into comics?
“I got into comics when I was 10. Of course, it all started with the classics…The Incredible Hulk, The Amazing Spider-Man, and Superman.”

What is it about this fantasy world that you enjoy most?
“I think the most appealing thing about the worlds created by these comics is anyone can be a hero! Whether it be an alien humanoid refugee or an awkward teenager; it’s possible to find that inner strength to stand up and defy and defeat the forces of evil. Kind of an overtone for ever day life really.”

Speak your mind!

