Sunday Spotlight…Recent Grads Host Local Premiere of Short Film


Today, we’re talking with Lou Farina, a recent high school graduate from MaST Community Charter School. He recently made a short film with some other recent graduates. Check it out!

image

You recently made a short film, correct? Who did you make the movie with?
“Yes, I recently made a film called “Ben”. The people who were involved were my friends: Patrick Miller, Quinn McGarrigle, Emily and Sherri.”

What’s it about?
“”Ben” is about a troubled young man who loses his mind after his parents die, and how his mental health deteriorated from that point on. He starts to kill everyone around him, in classic horror cinema fashion. One warning: the movie is rated R. The characters are a bit off the wall and curse a little bit. There isn’t really anything too graphic, just fake punches and fake blood.”

How long is the film?
“A very random length. 41 minutes.”

What inspired you to make this movie?
“Well, this movie wasn’t really my idea. It’s been in the works since 2011. Patrick and Quinn have been working on the script since then, but never made it. Quinn reached out to me and asked me if I wanted to help, and I just said yes. I love film and video so it was a no brainer for me.”

image

Have you always been interested in film making?
“It’s something I always wanted to do since I was a little kid, but I was always to scared to try. I spent the first 3 years of high school not really doing anything. It was really not a good point in my life. In my senior year, I finally decided to try something that I always wanted to do, and it just happened to be my life’s passion.”

What changed to make you go forward?
“I was sick of not doing anything productive with my time. I realized that I was gonna regret not trying, somewhere down the line, and I didn’t want that to happen. One day I just stopped worrying about what people would think or say about it and just started making videos.”

That’s a great thing to decide on so young. Do you mind sharing your age with us?
“Thank you! Not at all, I’m 18.”

So how and where did this movie get made? Did you need funding, etc?
“Well, we planned out everything by each scene of the movie. It was mainly centered around the director’s (Patrick) house. For the other locations, we basically just went around northeast Philadelphia and tried to do a scene wherever we could. We didn’t plan enough, which made things very hard. This whole film was a huge learning experience. We needed some funding, mainly for food and props. We basically just put our money together when we could. I already had a DSLR (camera), so we used the audio equipment from my high school.”

Will people be able to see this movie?
“Yes, we are going to be screening it in August. Then it will be on YouTube. It (the premiere) will be at 1526 Packer Avenue. It’s at a restaurant/bar that is going to be closed and only open for the movie premiere. It’s on August 27th at 8:00 PM. There will be more entertainment on that night, including standup, “Ben”, “Ben” bloopers, a Q&A and another movie that we recently finished.”

A preview of where the premiere will be shown.
A preview of where the premiere will be shown.

Wow! Another movie? That’s exciting! Care to share any details about that or is it a surprise for the premiere?
“It is supposed to be a surprise. I can share a couple of things though. It is made a lot better than “Ben”. We learned from every single mistake we made, and improved on it. “Ben” was Pat and my first project, so it was riddled with bumps in the road.”

What’s next for you?
“Well, I recently started a video/photography production company. We make corporate, music, event and documentary videos. I will also continue making films, but as a hobby.”

No hopes or dreams to pursue a movie making career?
“No, I don’t want to go into as a career path. Pat and I are just going to make them for fun, and put them into film festivals and have screenings.”

image
Interesting. What if some famous Hollywood director really loves one of your films and asks you to do something? Would that change anything?
“If a famous director reached out to me I would be blown away. That would definitely change something. I think I’d reconsider.”

Where can people learn more about your movies, premier and production company?
“This my production company’s Facebook page and website: https://www.facebook.com/revolutionaryproductionsinc http://www.revolutionaryproductionsinc.com/ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbucnJC1mSAtMP9C9gsFw2g
For all of my films you can see them here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNn6OXe4OlwLhlor8__PAvg”

What would you tell the powers that be when they say that arts in schools aren’t critical?
“I would tell them that the arts in schools are just as important as anything else that is taught. Students need to be encouraged to express themselves creatively. Art has impacted my life in so many ways, and I would have no career path, hobby or productive life without it. It is one of the things that has made me happy, and I believe that art can do that for anybody.”

We couldn’t agree more!

Speak your mind!

