At the Movies…A True Fan of Film


image

When did your love of movies begin?
“I’ve been a fan of movies as far back as I can remember. My father was a huge fan of movies as well, which is why I got hooked. When I was a kid, we went to the movies all the time. Sometimes 2 to 3 times a week.”

What type of movies are your favorite to see?
“That’s a tough one because I really love all types of movies. However, if I truly have to pick one genre, I choose Sci-fi/Fantasy then horror.”

What do you love most about those types of movies?
“What I love most about movies is that while you’re watching it, and even long after it’s over, you can imagine yourself as part of it. Maybe as one of the characters or just as yourself being there in that story, time, world or situation. That is why I especially like the Sci-Fi/Fantasy movies. They can take you to all kinds of unimaginable places and/or allow you to do extraordinary things. Have adventures & meet people you may not ordinarily meet. With horror movies, I just love the scare factor. Although I love gory/graphic horror too. Given the choice, I prefer a straight up, scare the crap out of you movie over blood and guts. If I can get a blend of both, that’s great too. What I like best, no matter what genre of film I’m watching, I like to be able to identify with the characters. A good movie should pull you in completely from beginning to end and stay with you long after it’s over.”

His love of movies is evidenced in his home.
His love of movies is evidenced in his home.

You’ve actually gone to conventions because of your love of movies/horror, correct?
“Yes. My first one was around 1995 I believe. I started going again almost 10 years ago. I try to go at least once a year now. We started bringing my daughter about 3 years ago. We all love horror n Sci-fi. I’ve met some really cool stars from the movies.”

So many movies seem to get recycled nowadays. Do you think people have run out of original ideas?
“For the most part, yes. However, with all the movies that have been made over the past 100+ years it’s difficult to make something original. Even when Hollywood tries to make something original, it’s often either compared to or accused of copying another movie. Remakes are ok as long as they’re done right. You gotta add something to it. Not just recycle the same exact thing.”

What would you say, is the best movie of all time? And while you’re at it, the best actor/actress of all time?
“Wow, that’s really tough. There’s so many movies & actors/actresses to choose from. Well, the one I’m going to go with is E.T. I love that movie. I saw it at least 10 times, just in the theater alone. At the Leo Mall actually. Now, I may say a different movie if you were to ask me again in the future, because there’s so many, but this is definitely tops on my list. Actors and actresses are tough too. I’d say Robert DeNiro and Jack Nicholson. Mainly for the cool factor. I would also say Johnny Depp. I believe he’s a very good and versatile actor. He’s made a lot of really good movies. Sorry I couldn’t narrow it down more. It’s just there’s so many choices. It’s a little easier to narrow it down by genre.”

image

It is tough to choose. Wrapping up, what are your final thoughts about the art and importance of movies?
“There was this one time at band camp… I guess I would just like to say that I love watching movies. It’s a great form of entertainment. It has helped shape my personality and who I am. I reference movie lines all the time in my life. As do most other people. It’s a common interest we all share. They help create shared memories with friends and family in so many ways, on so many levels. Many things we use today and will use tomorrow are ideas formed from movies of the past, if you stop and think about it. Movies have helped form our society in so many ways, it’s crazy. I’m a movie geek and proud of it. Asta la vista baby…”

Speak your mind!

