Results of our Father’s Day poll:


1. Did your dad spend a lot of time with you as a child?
56% said no
28% said yes
Explanations of answers:

“My father worked 6 & sometimes 7 days a week. Usually Sundays were his off day & he would spend those mornings playing basketball, then come home, shower, & spend most of the afternoon watching sports on tv.”

“He was there but not always. He suffered from depression & PTSD. Vietnam changed him & made him. It’s taken years for me to understand that.”

“He was a police officer and shared the raising of his 6 children while Mom worked a temp job”

“My Dad worked 2 jobs to support our family. The time we spent together was short but it was quality time.”

“Parents divorced when I was 2.”

“He worked 2-3 jobs so my mom didn’t have to work so he can wasn’t able to. Except two weeks every summer when we went on vacation.”

2. Do you think being a father is more difficult than being a mother?
87.5% said no
12.5% said yes
Explanations of answers:

“Depending on the gender of child you have to raise brings different issues along the way.
Mother’s of boys & father’s of girls often have to reacted belatedly to certain biological issues that a child encounters. Mother’s of girls & father’s of boys will have a better understanding of what their child may be enduring having endured the same process themselves.”

“Each is equally as hard.”

“Different base for role models, but equally important”

“I believe being a father or a mother is equally as difficult. Essentially they are both doing the same job. Either together if they are marri I believe being a father or a mother is equally as difficult. Essentially they are both doing the same job. Either together if they are married or separate if they are not”

“Dads do just as much as moms especially when they both work.”

“I’m a mother.”

3. Did your father play as big of a role as your mother, in your life?
56% said yes
33% said no
11% said “other”

Explanations of answers:

“The same”

“While there were times when both of my parents worked, my mother mainly made sure that she was home for us when we returned from school. She was home to make sure we did our homework & chores before going out to play. Then she would have dinner ready by a certain time. If you weren’t home in time for dinner to eat with the family, you either didn’t eat or had to prepare your own.”

“I am equally my parents. Everything good & not so good is spilt right down the middle.”

“I had a different relationship with each of them. As life continued, that evolved accordingly”

“My father actually played a bigger role in my life my parents were divorced when I was a toddler. So I was brought up by my father”

“Divorced. Live with mom.”

Speak your mind!

