Anonymous Confessions of an Avid Rock Fan


Perhaps the term “groupie” has fallen out of favor. Perhaps the catchier and more PC term “band-aids”, coined in Cameron Crowe’s 2000 film Almost Famous may be more àpropos. Or maybe it was simply because these are more fly on the wall observances than first-hand tales of rock n roll debauchery. Whatever the case, this avid rock music fan gave us a bit of the skinny on real-life sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll.
Now would be a good time to send the kiddies for a snack.

HOW MANY ROCK CONCERTS WOULD YOU SAY YOU HAVE BEEN TO?
I have honestly lost count. I would go to 2 or 3 a week for years. Some big names, some in smaller clubs. I have been to hundreds of shows.

HOW MANY SHOWS HAVE YOU GOTTEN BACKSTAGE AT ?
All of them that I wanted to.

HOW OFTEN WOULD YOU GET TO MEET OR HANG OUT WITH THE BAND?
Again, any that I wanted to.

HOW WAS IT THAT YOU WERE USUALLY ABLE TO GET BACKSTAGE OR IN TO SEE THE BAND?
I had friends that worked at the shows and other friends that sold drugs to the bands.

SO, WHAT ARE SOME OF THE CRAZIER THINGS YOU’VE SEEN WHILE BACKSTAGE AT A CONCERT?
I’ve seen a lot of shit. Greenday getting in a fight, Dimebag Darrell (probably best know as the guitar player for Pantera) giving someone a tattoo, Wavy Gravy (well know hippie and counterculture personality) and Slash (best know as the guitarist for Guns n Roses and later, Velvet Revolver) hitting on hookers… I bit a member of Slipknot on the neck. David Lee Roth got mad at me and I got in a fight with Alice in Chains. (I’ve seen) people throwing up, hooking up, shooting up…girls shaving their heads, having sex, giving blow jobs, people overdosing. (I’ve seen) Courtney Love being a whore, Lemmy looking for speed- not cocaine. But something that sticks out a lot, is a night I was hanging with Marilyn Manson. That entire night was nuts! We did wreck a hotel room.

WHAT BAND(S) WOULD YOU SAY MOST LIVED UP TO THE WHOLE SEX DRUGS AND ROCK N ROLL SAYING?
Marilyn Manson, Motörhead, Guns N Roses, Motley Crüe, Slipknot, Pantera, Weezer, The Roots, Hole, L7.

WERE THERE ANY PERFORMERS WHO WERE PARTICULARLY CRAZY PARTIERS?
All of Marilyn Manson, Slipknot, Pantera, Hole, Slash. I Can’t even remember them all.

SO, WERE THERE ANY WHO YOU WOULD HAVE THOUGHT WOULD BE WILD BUT WERE ACTUALLY PRETTY TAME?
Kurt Cobain- but I think he was just wasted.

HAVE YOU ALWAYS BEEN A FAN OF ROCK MUSIC?
I love most types of music. Rock is my favorite. Yes, I have always been a fan.

WHO’S YOUR ALL TIME FAVORITE?
Ah, too many to give a favorite but Chris Cornell is one of my favorite singers.

DID YOU EVER HAVE A CHANCE TO HANG OUT WITH HIM BACKSTAGE?
I have not hung out with him. I’ve been back stage when he was, over 20 years ago but never actually met. I’m glad because I adore him and would hate it if he was an asshole.

ANYONE THAT YOU’VE NEVER GOT TO HANG WITH OR TALK TO THAT YOU’D LIKE TO?
Oh yes, plenty! I wish I could remember all the people I met too. My friend once said to me “remember when we met Bob Dylan?” No, no I don’t…. Would love to hang out with Jack White.

ROCK N ROLL HALL OF FAME INDUCTION IS COMING UP NEXT WEEK, ARE THERE ANY BAND(S) OR PERFORMER(S) THAT ARE NOT IN THE HALL THAT YOU ABSOLUTELY THINK SHOULD BE?
So many have been snubbed, Ozzy, Nine Inch Nails, Motörhead, Journey, Iron Maiden and Deep Purple to name a few. I think Soundgarden should be in there but I may be biased.

One thought on “Anonymous Confessions of an Avid Rock Fan

Speak your mind!

