Stuck in the Middle With You: A Middle Child Speaks.


Perhaps the most talked about, the most controversial of all in the birth order spectrum, is the middle child. Middle children often get a bad rap as being needy attention seekers stuck somewhere between the assertive and confident oldest and the precious and coddled baby. I mean really, who isn’t familiar with the famous ‘Marsha, Marsha, Marsha’ syndrome!? But middle children possess their own set of unique and wonderful traits and today I spoke to someone who had no problem sharing all of the wonders of the middle child.
(Hint: If you can’t tell after the first question or two, the subject of the interview is literally a middle child. She’s 10 years old.)

3kidsHOW MANY BOTHERS AND SISTERS DO YOU HAVE?
One sister and one brother.

WHERE DO YOU FIT IN? ARE YOU THE OLDEST? YOUNGEST? MIDDLE?
My sister is older and my brother is younger. I’m in the middle.

DO YOU EVER HEAR ANYTHING SAID ABOUT BEING THE CHILD IN THE MIDDLE?
I know people say some people have ‘middle child syndrome’ and I have no idea what that means. I think middle children are the best obviously. The oldest is all old and the youngest are like babies.

SO DO YOU THINK MIDDLE CHILDREN ACT DIFFERENTLY THAN THE OTHER KIDS?
We’re obviously just better. We act awesome.

AWESOME INDEED. BUT SERIOUSLY, DO YOU BELIEVE THAT MIDDLE KIDS ACT A CERTAIN WAY THAT MAY BE DIFFERENT THAN THEIR BROTHERS AND SISTERS?
Not really. The oldest has been around the longest so your parents already have done so many things with them. Then when you come along they’re not as nervous and worried about everything that you are gonna do. I think the youngest gets most of the attention because they’re all cute and they’re the babies.

SOMETIMES PEOPLE SAY MIDDLE CHILDREN NEED A LOT OF ATTENTION SO THEY ACT SILLY OR DO THINGS TO TRY TO GET THEIR FAMILY’S ATTENTION? DO YOU THINK THAT’S TRUE?
I think my sister does more stuff to try to get attention than I do. Teenagers are always trying to get attention. I don’t want more attention. My parents already pay too much attention to what I’m doing. Why would kids want more attention from their parents. If their parents aren’t paying attention they can do more of what they want and less of what they have to do, like clean their room and stuff.

GOOD POINT. THAT’S CALLED ‘FLYING UNDER THE RADAR’. HAVE YOU EVER HEARD OF THAT EXPRESSION?
Not really.

IT MEANS TRYING ON PURPOSE NOT TO GET NOTICED SO THAT WAY YOU DON’T GET ANY CRITICISM OR CRITIQUE EITHER WAY? DO YOU THINK THAT’S A GOOD THING OR A BAD THING?
I have no idea. I just do what I do and if it’s something I’m not supposed to do, I hope my tattle-tale brother and sister don’t tell.

DO YOU OFTEN DO THINGS YOU’RE NOT SUPPOSED TO DO?
Um. I really don’t want to say anything incriminating.

INCRIMINATING IS A PRETTY BIG WORD FOR SOMEONE YOUR AGE. DO YOU THINK A  GOOD VOCABULARY IS ANOTHER TRAIT THAT MIDDLE CHILDREN POSSESS?
It could be. My friend (name omitted) is a middle child and she knows like every single word. She always gets A’s on like, assignments that have to do with writing and language arts.

HOW ABOUT YOU? DO YOU DO WELL IN SCHOOL?
I don’t want to say.

IT’S OKAY TO TELL US. BEING A GOOD STUDENT IS A GOOD THING. HOW DID YOU DO ON YOUR LAST REPORT CARD, TRUTHFULLY?
I got like 3 A’s and 2 B’s. I got a B in math. I do not understand math most of the time. I literally have no idea how I got a B. I just do good on all the tests for some reason.

DID YOU EVER WONDER IF MIDDLE CHILDREN ARE USUALLY BETTER AT MATH? OR SPORTS? OR ART? OR ANYTHING?
I never even thought about that. I think everyone is probably good at a lot of different things.

ARE THERE ANY OTHER THINGS THAT YOU THINK YOU MAKES A MIDDLE CHILD DIFFERENT?
Middle children are just awesome.

Famous middle children include:
JFK, Katy Perry, Madonna, Martin Luther King Jr., Joaquin Phoenix, Jennifer Lopez, Britney Spears, and Princess Diana.

Speak your mind!

