Sister, Sister: Talking with Twins.


National Siblings Day happens on April 10. Unlike Mother’s Day and Father’s Day, it is not a federally recognized holiday. Still, those of us with siblings, and perhaps even those without, understand that the bond between siblings can be just as important and special as any familial relationship- maybe even more so. A sibling can be a playmate, a friend, a partner in crime, a protector, an adversary, and so much more. They can make you feel better, sometimes when no one else can. They can push your buttons. They can make you angry, or filled with happiness and pride. They can understand what you are going through and where you are coming from better than anyone else in the world. No matter what they bring out in you, the relationship between siblings is a unique and special one indeed.

We had the opportunity to talk to twins, identical twins, a few days ago. They are a set of female twins in their late twenties. We spoke to them separately and asked them the same questions, but neither was present for the other’s interview. We thought it’d be fun to examine the nature of the twin relationship, and to see if their answers were as similar as you might expect twins to be.


twinsYOU’RE A TWIN IS THAT RIGHT
Yep.

IDENTICAL OR FRATERNAL?
Identical.

DO YOU LIKE BEING A TWIN?
I do. It’s like having a sister and a best friend but to the fiftieth power.

DID YOU LIKE IT WHEN YOU WERE YOUNGER? Most of the time. I was lucky that we were always very close and not at all competitive like I know some twins are.

WHAT WAS THE BEST THING ABOUT BEING A TWIN?
Sharing clothes I guess was always nice. Not that you couldn’t do that with anyone. Being able to freak people out who you just met. It’s hard to explain why it’s cool to have someone in the world who looks exactly like you.

WHAT WAS THE WORST THING ABOUT BEING A TWIN?
People always assumed that we were alike in every way. That we’d like the same music or the same shows or the same guys.

AND YOU DIDN’T?
Sometimes of course. But looking like someone, and even being that incredibly close to someone, biologically, genetically, you still have different personalities. You’re still different people.

WHEN YOU WERE KIDS DID YOUR PARENTS DRESS YOU ALIKE?
Ha. Only when we were really young! Like when we were babies, and toddlers. We’d have matching holiday dresses for Easter and Christmas, probably up until about Kindergarten I guess.

DID YOU LIKE IT?
It was fine at that age. At that age it’s cute. It’s when you’re like 14 that it’s a problem.

EVER PULLED THE BAIT AND SWITCH ON ANYONE?
Oh yes! Teachers. Boyfriends. Friends. We were really bad with that. I guess it’s fine to talk about it now. I even went to a job interview for her one time. She had a ring dance thing that she’d been waiting for like 2 months and the only day they could give her this job interview, which was for an internship not even a paying job, was the same day. We’d play jokes on people with it, but that was the most serious time we did it.

DO YOU HAVE KIDS?
Yes. I have a 5-year-old son.

WOULD YOU LIKE TO HAVE A SET OF TWINS?
I’m divorced now so I don’t know if I’ll have more kids, but I think it would be cool. I think having been a twin growing up it’d be really wild to see it from both perspectives.

WHAT IS THE MOST SIMILAR THING ABOUT YOU AND YOUR SISTER?
Well obviously we look alike. Our eyes, I have been told, are just slightly different, color-wise. Mine are like a shade lighter or something. But our facial features are pretty much spot on. Personality wise, we’re a lot alike, but I am much more serious. She is definitely the wild child of the two.

WHAT IS THE THING THAT IS MOST DIFFERENT ABOUT YOU TWO?
I’m more likely to sit home on a Saturday night, watch Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles with my son, and make homemade pizzas. I’m cool with that. She’s more likely to go to a club or a party or need to be out and involved in what’s going on. I literally don’t care at all what’s going on outside my front door most of the time!


YOU’RE A TWIN IS THAT RIGHT?
I am.

IDENTICAL OR FRATERNAL?
Identical. Really identical!

DO YOU LIKE BEING A TWIN?
Yeah I do. I love my sister. She’s my best friend. Always has been.

DID YOU LIKE IT WHEN YOU WERE YOUNGER?
I think so. We were always best friends. We never had a lot of sibling rivalry or anything. I don’t know if that’s more or less common with twins.

WHAT WAS THE BEST THING ABOUT BEING A TWIN?
We shared everything! Clothes, shoes, makeup, jewelry, everything. Plus, it’s cool to play the twin card. You know, freak people out and stuff.

WHAT WAS THE WORST THING ABOUT BEING A TWIN?
Not having your own identity. Actually, having one but people not recognizing you as an individual.

WHEN YOU WERE KIDS DID YOUR PARENTS DRESS YOU ALIKE?
Only when we were little. We’d having matching bathing suits in the summer. Matching Easter dresses. All of that, but only til maybe grade school.

DID YOU LIKE IT?
I think I was fine with it. It’s cute when you’re little. It stops being cute when you get to be a teenager though. That drives me crazy.

EVER PULLED THE BAIT AND SWITCH ON ANYONE?
Oh man, yeah! One time Kadie went to a job interview and pretended to be me so I could go to my ring dance. We’d do stuff like that all the time. Even with our parents. They rarely fell for it though. We used to mess with our teachers all the time too.

DO YOU HAVE KIDS?
No. But Kadie has one.

WOULD YOU LIKE TO HAVE A SET OF TWINS?
I’d love to. I think it’s just such a cool thing. Getting to be twin and then getting to parent twins, that has to be pretty cool.

WHAT IS THE MOST SIMILAR THING ABOUT YOU AND YOUR SISTER?
We’re identical twins so pretty much everything. We look basically exactly alike. We sound alike. We act alike a lot of the time too. She’s settled down a lot more than I have though. I’m still the more wild of the two.

WHAT IS THE THING THAT IS MOST DIFFERENT ABOUT YOU TWO?
She’s a homebody. I am the exact opposite of a homebody. It’s probaly the only place where we differ THAT much.

One thought on “Sister, Sister: Talking with Twins.

Speak your mind!

