Brad Cooper is No Fool: His Thoughts on Philly, Paparazzi and Not Winning an Oscar.


What are some of your favorite memories of growing up in the Philadelphia area?
“Getting on Septa and going downtown in Philly with friends. Just walking around, looking at the sights. Also, going to the Phillies and Flyers games with my dad.”

When did you first become interested in working in your field?
“I was in 8th grade and I went to an open house at the local high school and from that point on, I was interested. I started training at the age of 15. [I liked) that there were so many different aspects of what you can do in the field.”

Did you ever dream you’d be doing what you’re doing?
“No. As a young child, of course, I wanted to be the next Mike Schmidt!”

Was your family always supportive of your career choice?
“Yes, my family is very supportive about everything that I did and still do.”

Did they have other aspirations for you? Maybe a family career or something?
“No, my dad never wanted me to do what he did. They just wanted me to be happy.”

Did you ever do anything “wild” as a teenager?
“Of course we did wild things but I’m not going to talk about them. It would implicate too many people.”

Well now I’m intrigued, but I won’t press.

Does it ever bother you that you haven’t won an Oscar?
“Of course! Who wouldn’t want to win an Oscar?!”

Do you feel too much emphasis is put on winning awards?
“”They” might put a lot of importance on it, but I don’t let those kind of things get to me. I just want to do my very best every day.”

Do you feel Eddie Redmayne deserved to win the academy award this year?
“What do you want me to say?! Of course he did! It was a great performance.”

What is your favorite movie of all time?
“I have many that are my favorites. One that stands out is Blazing Saddles. Things were said and done in that movie that will never be able to be replicated again.”

It was totally ahead of its time. You couldn’t get away with that stuff today.
“Absolutely! Mel Brooks is a comedy genius.”

What’s your favorite Bradley Cooper movie?
“The Hangover. It was a breakout film.”

Shifting gears: Does it bother you when people try to get into your personal business?
“Of course. Who wants their life all over the place?”

Some people would say that an actor asks for their privacy to be invaded when they take on a role in the public eye. What would you say to that?
“I can see why they would say that, but a person’s life is a person’s life. They shouldn’t know everything about that person. Everyone has to have a private life also.”

Do you think there should be stricter laws against paparazzi?
“Yes, there definitely should be some laws for them. They’re too aggressive.”

What do you feel is excessive and what should the punishment be?
“Excessive would be getting in someone’s face when they’re trying just to spend time with their family and not letting them just be. Punishment by fines to jail time.”

Gotcha! Happy April Fools Day! Brad Cooper was a classmate of Noelle’s at George Washington high school. The secondary high school Brad spoke of was Swenson, where he took a course in HVAC. He used that to get a job at PGW where he’s worked for 24 years.
Now don’t spoil the fun. Share the “Brad Cooper” interview with your friends.
image

Speak your mind!

