The Luck o’ the Irish. Coincidence? Happenstance? Or Just the Right Outlook on life?


cloverSt. Patrick’s day is tomorrow and among the many things that we associate with the holiday, and with the Irish, is the concept of good luck. Certainly not exclusive to the Irish people, the concepts of good fortune or good luck go back to the ancient Greeks and Romans. The notion of luck and the associated ideas and symbols vary by country and by culture, but perhaps few more recognizable than the four-leaf clover. A universally recognized symbol of luck, it closely resembles the Irish shamrock, which is a three-leaved clover used by Saint Patrick to illustrate the Trinity. It (the shamrock) has subsequently become a national symbol of Ireland. Perhaps it is why we have adopted the notion of the lucky Irish or the luck of the Irish to our American vernacular.
Do you believe in luck? Do you have a good luck charm? We talked to someone who takes the idea of luck and good luck charms to a whole other level.

ARE YOU IRISH?
I am half Irish. But I am American. My grandmother was born in Belfast. Both of my parents were born here. My mother is Irish and my father is Italian.

SO DO YOU BELIEVE IN LUCK?
You could say that.

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT LUCK? DO YOU BELIEVE IT JUST HAPPENS OR THAT YOU SOMEHOW ATTRACT LUCK TO YOURSELF?
I think it is a self-fulfilling prophecy. I mean, maybe some people are just born lucky, but I think if you have an outlook of a lucky person, if you think lucky thoughts, if you believe that you will have good luck and good fortune than that is what will come back to you.

AND HOW DO YOU PERSONALLY DO THAT? HOW DO YOU THINK YOU ATTRACT LUCK?
Well, for me personally I always think positive. If I get a scratch off lottery ticket, right before I scratch it off, I think to myself how great it’s going to be when I win. Or if I enter a contest, I imagine what I am going to do WHEN I win the prize or whatever it is.

AND DOES IT WORK FOR YOU?
I think it does. I mean, I’m not saying I win every single thing I try to, or that things go right all of the time, but I think, and have been told that I am a very lucky person.

DO YOU ATTRIBUTE THAT AT ALL TO BEING IRISH?
Well, I definitely embrace the idea of the luck o’ the Irish. I don’t know if that is why I am lucky, but I don’t think it hurts. I keep that notion in my head, kind of like my mantra.

ARE YOU SUPERSTITIOUS ABOUT YOUR LUCK? DO YOU HAVE ANY GOOD LUCK CHARMS OR RITUALS ASSOCIATED WITH IT?
I do have a pretty big collection of good luck charms and just things that I collect that I just feel are lucky things.

ARE ANY OF THEM IRISH RELATED?
They are. I mean, I have a collection of lucky Irish items that I keep on a set of shelves in my bedroom. I collect these celtic crosses that I have hanging on one wall in my house and I call it the “lucky wall”. I collect claddaghs, which are really more of a symbol of love or friendship, but I find that all of mine represent exceptional luck to me. On my Irish shelves I have like 16 different shamrocks, and a bunch of other statues, figurines, and symbols. But not all of my Irish stuff is about luck and not all of my lucky stuff is Irish.

SO WHAT ELSE DO YOU HAVE? WHAT DO YOU KEEP THAT’S LUCKY THAT ISN’T RELATED TO YOUR COLLECTION OF IRISH ITEMS?
rabbitsfeetI have a whole key chain full of rabbit’s feet (not real feet). I have a bunch of these little bronze horseshoes too. Someone told me horseshoes were good luck once, so when I saw one of these little bronze figurines I bought one. The next thing you know, everyone was buying me horseshoe stuff. Basically anything that says ‘luck’ or ‘good luck’ or anything like that people who know me will buy me when they see it. I have a lucky shirt that I wear whenever any of my teams are playing. Like, I have one lucky Eagles shirt, one Phillies, one Flyers, etc. And I have a lucky outfit that I will wear whenever I want something positive to happen as a result, like to a job interview, or if I am up for a promotion or something. I even have lucky shoes!

AND DO YOU TRULY BELIEVE THAT THESE SYMBOLS HELP YOU IN SOME WAY? THAT THEY MAKE YOU LUCKIER?
I do. I mean, is it really my lucky shirt that is making my team win when I wear it to the game? Or is it coincidence? Or is it just my positivity that puts a good spin on everything so that I feel lucky? I kind of feel like that is what everyone should do though. All I know is I am 25-0 for Eagles wins when I attend the games in my shirt. And I think I am about the same or a little higher for Flyers games. Maybe it is total BS. But I think if everyone were to walk around with an attitude like ‘I AM lucky’ and ‘good things ARE going to happen today, with me, with this game, with this job interview, whatever, the world would be a much better place, don’t you think?

INDEED WE DO.

Speak your mind!

