How Close Did You Come to Being What You Thought You’d Be as a Kid?


As children, we all have dreams, aspirations as to who we want to be and what we want to do. Sometimes, those things come to fruition. More often than not, we change our minds year in and year out. And though there are a few who stay the course, most of us ultimately wind up painting a picture of our lives that looks nothing like what we saw on the canvas as children. So today we asked this:
WHAT DO YOU REMEMBER WANTING TO BE WHEN YOU WERE A KID? WHAT DID YOU BECOME, WHAT DO YOU DO TODAY?

“I had all the “typical” boy ideas about what to be. I wanted to be a fireman, a cop, an astronaut. When I was really little I wanted to be Superman. I wanted to be a carpenter. I mean, I had the “man jobs” nailed down. Imagine my family’s shock when I went away to school at 18 and returned a year later for the first time and proclaimed that I was becoming a dancer. They were pretty freaked out. But I majored in fine arts and minored in dance and I never looked back. So, I did not, for sure, become what I thought I’d be when I was a kid. But I definitely became what I was meant to be, so that’s all that matters.”

“I honestly do not have a clue what I wanted to be when I was little. I mean, what do all little girls want to be. A ballerina? I really don’t know. I think I wanted to be Wonder Woman at one point. Nothing realistic. I’m a stay at home mom. I don’t recall ever having the kind of career or life aspirations that kids today have. I never thought about where I’d go to college when I was 9. Kids do that now. My daughter, at 10, told me she wanted to go to Harvard. I told her to go get a job.”

“I wanted to be in the FBI. I work in a grocery store. So, uh, yeah.”

“I think I wanted to be a teacher for the most part. I think it changed from time to time. I think at one point I wanted to be a lawyer. Ultimately, and I’m not kidding, I decided that I wanted to do whatever job had a major that required the fewest amount of math courses. I became a social worker.”

“I always wanted to be famous. I never pictured myself any other way. I didn’t know how. Acting? Songwriting? Producing? Writing? I just always saw myself in the spotlight. I’d lie awake at night and imagine myself as a guest on The Tonight Show or accepting some kind of an award, an Emmy or an Oscar or something. I am definitely creative, definitely artistic. I don’t know that I have that raw talent to be famous though. Then again look at reality tv and all the idiots who are famous for nothing. I’m not an actress or a producer. I have no Emmy. So, I guess I did not become what I said I would, but I am happy doing what I do. I own my own business and I am still creative in a variety of ways.”

“I wanted to be a teacher. My mom and dad were both teachers. I am an education major now. I’m in my third year, so it looks like I will actually become what I always expected I would be.”

“I wanted to be a firefighter. I went into the family business instead.”

“I wanted to be a cop. I applied, went to the academy and was one for 2 1/2 years.”

“For the most part, I always wanted to be a commercial artist. I wanted to design album covers and things like that. I took all kinds of art classes in high school and was going to go to college for it, but in my senior year (1988) computers were starting to become popular for drawing and I wanted to draw them for myself not have a computer do it. So that ended that.”

“I don’t recall ever having a fantasy job when I was younger except maybe a professional soccer player. I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. Albert Einstein once said the most interesting people that he’s met that are in their fifties, still don’t know what they want to do when they grow up. I would hope that Albert Einstein would find me interesting. It would be an honor. I do believe that I will achieve my goal of becoming a successful fitness dude. In fact I may already be there.”

“A musician…that is pretty close, I guess.”

“As a kid, I was always fascinated by television news and always wanted to be a part of the excitement, of putting together a nightly newscast. I went to school for radio, television and film and actually got to work on a nightly news program. I was lucky that I got to experience my dream, but quickly realized that it wasn’t for me so I changed careers.”

“Sadly I had no aspirations to be anything in particular when I was young. Still don’t know what I wanna be when I grow up.”

“Growing up poor, I had no real dreams of any future. When I was a pre-teen, I had some futile aspirations of being a scientist (space, biology, archeology, etc.) but those dreams were overshadowed by the abyss of poverty.”

“Didn’t know then and don’t know now. Although I love my job, it’s nothing I aspired to.”

“I wanted to be the camera guy under the basket or in the end zone. I never came close to achieving that early goal. I have a small blind spot on my dominant camera eye. I felt like I could not be at the top of that field with such a specific eye problem.”

3 thoughts on “How Close Did You Come to Being What You Thought You’d Be as a Kid?

  1. When I was a kid I wanted to be an psychic and a researcher for nasa…. in high school I wanted to be a musician well I wanted to write my own music and become a millionaire selling my music to artists and before graduation I wanted to become a drug counselor/mentor/advocate…. in college I majored in psychology, dropped out to ponder photography… then I wanted to be a medic went thru tech school for that and now I am experiencing the direct selling world and working for the city’s most hated company…I still have my dreams!! I always will love photography, writing music and astronomy…but what I want to become now is an advocate for domestic violence. I want to help women and families get thru some of the hardest times in thier lives. Help them keep safe and realize that life can be amazing again. Everyone has dreams you just have to keep chasing them 😉

    Like

  2. There were so many incarnations of dream careers throughout my life. When I was very small, I wanted to be a teacher. I liked playing school, so I guess that’s where that came from. Once in high school, I typed with being a cop, lawyer or psychiatrist. The latter was due to people telling me I should be that since I was the ear people felt comfortable talking into and thought I gave sound advice.
    In my twenties, photography became a growing passion and I toyed with an idea of going to New York to intern for Rolling Stone magazine. I was too chicken to do it. I have no regrets about that but do sometimes wonder what if.
    I’ve realized I need creativity to feel fulfilled, alive. Whether that’s make up, photography, writing, being around music…all of the above ideally. Dabbling works for me these days. But if I have the opportunity to be a movie star or rock star…I’m there. Haha

    Like

  3. When I was a kid I wanted to be either the first female justice of the United States Supreme Court or the first female major league baseball umpire. When Sandra Day O’Connor was elected to the bench, I was so mad. That ended my over-before-it-began career in law.
    After years of waitressing and bartending through school, I wound up getting degrees in Liberal Arts and Social Work. Even though I loved being a social worker, it never fed the creative side that is a huge part of me. I wanted to do something in movies or tv or music. After being a stay-at-home-mom for a few years, I finally settled on writing. I officially left social work and became a freelance writer, blogger, and columnist in 2007.
    The jury is still out on whether I will ever be the first female MLB umpire!

    Like

Speak your mind!

