A Would-be Cupcake Queen Slows Down to Spend More Time Being a Mom.


cupcakesWHAT DO YOU DO FOR A LIVING?
I work in human resources.

AND YOU LIKE TO COOK?
I’d say it’s a hobby or an interest of mine, yes.

WHEN DID YOU START COOKING?
I’ve been around the kitchen my whole life with my grandmother. When I was a kid I used to watch cooking shows instead of Saturday morning cartoons.

WAS IT YOUR GRANDMOTHER WHO TAUGHT YOU TO COOK?
Yes, my grandmother. she used to say “I’m not always going to be around; someone in this family needs to learn this stuff”

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE THING THAT SHE WOULD MAKE?
Pizelles

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE THING THAT YOU MAKE?
In general I usually revert to Italian food, but I like trying new recipes and techniques pretty often. I enjoy going to a restaurant and eating and then trying to recreate it at home.

cupcakes2maureencupcakes3WHAT’S SOMETHING YOU’RE ALWAYS ASKED TO MAKE?
From my husband: baked ziti or taco dip (he’s not a fancy guy). From everyone else: cupcakes (or more specifically, my frosting). I bake!

SPEAKING OF BAKING, YOUR CUPCAKES ARE SOMETHING OF A LEGEND, DO FAMILY AND FRIENDS ALWAYS ASK YOU TO BAKE FOR BIRTHDAY PARTIES AND SUCH?
I used to be the baker, but my oven is older than dirt so I don’t do it as much as I’d like

DO YOU HAVE A WEBSITE OR BLOG OR ANYTHING FOR YOUR BAKED GOODS?
I used to but not anymore! Too time consuming. The toddler life doesn’t lend well to that.
(Maureen used to have a blog called The Devil Wears Pastry and a page called Cupcakes by Maureen!)

maureen2DO YOU HAVE ANY ASPIRATIONS FOR A FULL TIME CAREER CHANGE INTO SOMETHING HANDS ON IN THE CULINARY ARENA SOMEDAY?
I used to, but I don’t want the hours. I work in staffing in the food business, so hiring chefs is good enough for me!

WHAT ABOUT A COMPETITION SHOW? LIKE CUPCAKE WARS OR CHOPPED OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT?
Nothing on Food Network. I used to love Food Network, but now it’s too gimmicky and not as challenging. I don’t want to watch someone open a bunch of cans and call it dinner; I can do that myself.

WHAT ABOUT A COMPETITION THAT’S NOT ON TV LIKE , THE PILLSBURY BAKEOFF OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT?
Possibly, but again time is never on my side!

maureen1YOU COMPILED ALL OF YOUR GRANDMOM’S OLD RECIPES AND HAD IT MADE INTO A COOKBOOK. WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO DO THAT?
I thought it would be nice for us to have one place to be our go-to for Grandma’s best recipes. We don’t have a lot of them, might as well keep them together.

SO ARE YOU GOING TO SHARE ANY OF THE HER SECRETS WITH US? TELL US WHAT’S IN THOSE PIZELLES THAT MAKES THEM SO SPECIAL?
If I told you, I’d have to kill you! They’re just between me and her. Who says I didn’t leave out an ingredient or two? (Sorry, ma!)

GRANDMOM’S PIZELLE RECIPE:
(Makes about 100 cookies and you need a pizelle iron to make them the correct way)
12 eggs beaten
3 cups of white sugar
6 sticks of butter or margarine
6 cups of flour
4 Tsp of baking powder
2 Tsp of vanilla extract
1 small bottle of anise extract.
(If you wish to use anisette liqueur, substitute 1-2 tbsps of liquor for every tsp of anise extract)

Mix the ingredients in above order, eggs first until fluffy. Sugar and margarine. Add flour and baking powder in slowly. Vanilla and anise last. Use iron to form and bake the cookies. Don’t burn them!

3 thoughts on “A Would-be Cupcake Queen Slows Down to Spend More Time Being a Mom.

Speak your mind!

