Food Memories and Recipes from Readers Kick off a Week of Culinary Delights.


cheeseWe’re enjoying our blog party hangover and settling in to our new home. And this week we’re talking to people about food. We’ve had a few people mention that they’d like to know more about people’s thoughts on food; what they like, and what they’d like to share. People have such a strong connection to food. Food brings back memories. It stirs emotions. It brings people together. So, ask and you shall receive.
Before we dive right in to a collection of great interviews with chefs, novice home cooks, food bloggers, food lovers, and even a Food Network reality show star, we took to the “streets” once again to find out more about what food means to people. We asked if people had a favorite food memory or a family recipe they’d like to share. Here are some of the responses:

“When I was a kid between the ages of 7 & 13, I lived with my grandparents and almost every Sunday the whole family (aunts, uncles, cousins etc.) would come over for dinner. We were three tables long.   Yes, we had a kids table and that is where I sat until I got older. My grandmother wasn’t the best cook, putting it nicely. My mom used to make peanut butter pork chops. They were incredible. We all loved it but she lost the recipe. I know it may sound disgusting, but they were really good. I make a “Chinese version” of peanut butter pork chops, that I made up, it’s good. My wife likes them.”

hamMy food memory is Christmas dinner. My mom makes meat pie: pork, beef and potatoes in a pie crust. It takes a lot of work so she only makes it once a year. My great-grandmother, grandmother, mother have all made it. My mom thinks it might be Pennsylvania Dutch. It makes a lot because it feeds ten people and then we all get some to take home. Yum. In fact we still have some frozen that will only be enough for two of us so I am trying to figure out when to have it.
It is 5 or 6 pounds of pork and beef.
Boil the meat and then cut it up. Just a touch of salt and pepper. About 20 pounds of Potatoes, diced but not cooked fully because they will cook some more. Then you put everything in the pie dough and bake it for at least an hour until the pie crust is golden brown.This makes about two 9 x 12 pans and about 5 or 6-8 or 9 inch square pan.”

“1-800-pizza-hut”

“Sauerbraten, red cabbage and potato dumplings. My mom’s family… no one makes it better.”

“I always think of my Grandmom when I try to think of food memories. It seemed like she was always in the kitchen, morning, noon and night. It’s funny because she cooked so many different things, and I can only really remember one, crepes. I’ve tried to replicate the recipe a million times and I just can’t get it right, not like she made them anyway.”

cupcakes“My fondest food memories are when my kids were little and they’d help me “cook”. I’d let one tear up the lettuce for the salad and wash vegetables. I’d have one be my assistant putting stuff into bowls and mixing. It got a little messy sometimes and I feel and because I would get a little frustrated, but it’s such a happy memory. Those times go by so fast. My kids are grown now and they have their own kids to help them in the kitchen.”

“My sister and I always had a dessert competition. Whenever we’d have any kind of family thing, we’d both bring a dessert. We were secretly in competition to see whose dessert got more compliments. But when I had kids, it got harder and harder for me to compete. Making a beautiful and mouth-watering dessert with twin toddlers attached to your leg isn’t so easy. So I had to come up with something easy and awesome. This pie was SO delicious that my sister actually brings it everywhere now and we’ve put the competition aside. It is so easy too. You have to try it.”
Peanut Butter Pie Recipe
Beat 8 0z of softened cream cheese with 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter in a bowl until blended. Add 1 cup of cold milk and one box of dry instant chocolate pudding mix. Beat for about 2 min. Whisk in 1 cup of whipped topping; spoon into a ready-made crust (I use an Oreo crust, my sister uses traditional Graham cracker). Refrigerate.
Microwave 1 cup of whipped topping and 3 oz of baker’s semi sweet chocolate in microwaveable bowl on high for 1-2 min. or until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Let it cool.
Spread chocolate mixture over pudding layer in crust. Microwave 2 tbsp of peanut butter in small microwaveable bowl for about 30 sec. and stir. Drizzle over pie. Refrigerate for about 3-4 hours or until firm all the way through.

“I can’t think of one certain memory, but I always know when I sit down to a meal with friends, it’s going to be a memorable time.”

“The time my Nana came to dinner and she sat in a huge bowl of potatoes! My Gram was cooking and there were bowls, dishes, plates, everywhere. She had to put the bowl of mashed potatoes down for  second to heat up the butter. She was literally out of space on the counter AND the table. So for a moment, she set the bowl down on the chair. My Nana had horrible vision. She wandered in to see how it was going in the kitchen and when she decided to take a seat… well… we did NOT have mashed potatoes that year!”

“Making holiday treats with my kids for all the family holidays, parties, BBQs, etc.”

Do you have a fun food memory, a sweet story, or a recipe to share? That’s what the comments section is for. Tell your tale! And join us tomorrow and all week as we dig in to food week.

Speak your mind!

